About us

Territory Families, Housing and Communities was established by the Northern Territory Government on 7 September 2020.

Territory Families, Housing and Communities is a multi-functional human services and community-focused agency that works to provide responsive, safe and quality services and programs that empower communities and improve social outcomes for Territorians.

Our agency includes the following divisions:

  • Arts
  • Child Protection
  • Culture
  • Disability Services
  • Domestic and Sexual Violence Reduction
  • Family and Financial Support
  • Family Support
  • Gender Equity and Diversity
  • Emergency Management
  • Heritage
  • Homelessness
  • Indigenous Essential Services
  • Interpreting Services
  • Libraries and Archives
  • Multicultural Affairs
  • Out of Home Care
  • Seniors and Carers
  • Sport and Active Recreation
  • Urban Housing
  • Remote Housing
  • Youth Justice
  • Youth Affairs
  • Women’s Safe Houses.

Our chief executive

Mr Ken Davies PSM

Ken Davies PSM

In September 2020, Ken was appointed to the role of Chief Executive Officer (CEO), of the newly created Department of Territory Families, Housing and Communities. This agency is a multi-functional human services and community focused agency that is well positioned to provide comprehensive community services including emergency management, urban and remote housing, child protection, youth justice, family and financial support, domestic violence, sport and recreation, heritage, arts, culture, disabilities, Indigenous essential services, interpreting, libraries, multicultural affairs, seniors, youth, and gender equity and diversity.

Prior to this, Ken was the CEO of Territory Families from September 2016 – September 2020. Territory Families brought together functions including child protection, youth justice and domestic and family violence responses, and is focused on achieving positive outcomes for Territory children and families.

Ken continues to lead the complex work of implementing the recommendations from the Royal Commission into the Protection and Detention of Children in the Northern Territory. He is responsible for the Reform Management Office (RMO), which was established in 2017 in response to the Royal Commission to provide a whole-of-government mechanism to coordinate and monitor progress on the implementation of reforms for children and families.

Ken is the Chair of the Children and Families Standing Committee. The Committee represents the commitment of related Territory Government agencies to jointly address priority social issues in the Northern Territory.

Ken previously served as CEO of the Department of Education from April 2013 to September 2016, and has a strong background in education. Ken began his career in the Northern Territory as a teacher at Papunya in 1978. He became a school principal in Alice Springs and Katherine and regional superintendent in Tennant Creek. In 1999, he moved from Central Australia to Darwin, taking a position in the Department of the Chief Minister, and was soon appointed General Manager, Indigenous Education in the Department of Education.

In the past, he has served as Chief Executive of the Department of Lands, Planning and Environment, the Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services, and as Deputy Chief Executive of the Department of the Chief Minister. In these roles he implemented a significant restructure of the Department of Lands, Planning and Environment, established the new Northern Territory Planning Commission, the Environment Protection Authority, and as Chief Executive of the Department of Housing, drove one of the largest housing programs ever undertaken in remote Australia. Ken has worked extensively with local government to deliver good governance and services in the Northern Territory.

Ken is a former Chair of the Northern Territory Board of Studies, and former Northern Territory Principal’s Association President. He has also held appointments to the boards of the Australian Children’s Television Foundation, the Waterfront Development Corporation and the Land Development Corporation. He is a current member of the Menzies School of Health Research (MSHR) Board, MSHR Risk and Audit Committee, and was appointed in January 2021 as the Deputy Chancellor of the Charles Darwin University.

Ken has degrees in education and public sector management. He was awarded a Public Service Medal in January 2020 for outstanding service to children and families.

Our ministers

Hon Kate Worden, MLA - Member for Sanderson

  • Minister for Territory Families and Urban Housing
  • Minister for Sport
  • Minister for Disabilities
  • Minister for Multicultural Affairs.

Hon Lauren Moss, MLA - Member of Casuarina

  • Minister for Youth
  • Minister for Seniors
  • Minister for Women.

Hon Chansey Paech, MLA - Member for Gwoja

  • Minister for Remote Housing and Town Camps
  • Minister for Indigenous Essential Services
  • Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage.

Our assistant ministers

Mr Lawrence Costa MLA - Member for Arafura

  • Men’s Policy - responsible minister: Minister Moss
  • Aboriginal Affairs and Rangers - responsible minister: Minister Uibo
  • Remote Housing and Homelands - responsible minister: Minister Paech

Mr Joel Bowden MLA - Member for Johnston

  • Major Projects - responsible minister: Chief Minister
  • Tourism and Major Events - responsible minister: Minister Fyles
  • Arts and Culture - responsible minister: Minister Paech.

Our annual reports

View annual reports for the agency prior to it being established.

Our strategic plan

As a department, our vision is for Connected Communities | Thriving Places | Empowered Territorians. Our Strategic Plan 2021-2025 sets out how we will achieve this through defining our strategic direction, priorities and key deliverables for 2021-2025.

Accompanying our strategic plan is our Action Plan 2021-22  comprising of 81 key actions for the 2021-22 period. Our action plan will be refreshed annually for the span of our strategic plan. The agency is committed to reporting publically on its performance against these actions every six months.

View our Strategic Plan 2021-2025 PDF (33.3 MB) and Action Plan 2021-22 PDF (2.2 MB).

Last updated: 28 May 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!