NT History Grants and Awards Register of Peers announced


Eight history and heritage professionals have been appointed to the Northern Territory Government’s History Grants and Awards Register of Peers for the next three years.

Library & Archives NT’s (LANT) annual NT History Grants and the Chief Minister’s Northern Territory Book Award will be assessed by panels formed from the newly appointed Northern Territory Government’s History Grants and Awards Register of Peers. The peers comprise eight history and heritage professionals from across the Territory.

The new peers are:

  • Museum and Art Gallery of the NT (MAGNT), NT History Curator, Jared Archibald
  • MAGNT former registrar, archaeologist and cultural heritage specialist, Christine Tarbett-Buckley
  • Professional Historians Association NT executive member, Dr Wendy Beresford-Maning
  • Anthropologist and historian, Jennifer McFarland (Alice Springs)
  • Darwin High School history teacher, Judy Boland
  • Nightcliff Primary School former principal, Jillian Finch
  • NT Heritage Branch Director, Michael Wells
  • NT Heritage Branch Senior Heritage Officer, Dr Sam Wells

Members will provide subject matter expertise, which will assist Library & Archives NT (LANT) over the next three years.

The register will increase efficiencies because it allows the best Territory experts in these fields to assess both grants and awards.

The peers will be appointed to panels to assess and make recommendations for the upcoming annual NT History Grants, for which judging will shortly start for the 2021 grants round, and also for the annual Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award.

Image: John Bates Collection 1864-1979, https://lant.on.worldcat.org/v2/oclc/1118670878

Image of history photos and drawings

Share this page:

URL copied!