Pride in your Place awards

Public housing tenants who take pride in their house and yard are being rewarded for their efforts.

Formerly known as the “Public Housing Garden Competition”, the “Pride in your Place awards” are open to all public housing tenants in urban and remote areas of the Northern Territory.

Tenants are eligible to win a monthly prize of a $200 gift voucher and a certificate signed by the Minister for Territory Families or Minister for Housing and Homelands, depending on location.

The monthly awards are designed to recognise and thank tenants who look after their garden and maintain their property.

Tenants can be nominated any time during the year by a staff member from Territory Families, Housing and Communities.

So whether a tenant has an arid garden, their fruit trees are at their best in the wet, or their pot plants are in top shape in the dry — any public housing tenant is in with a chance to be one of our monthly winners.

To find out more, contact your local housing tenancy officer.

2021 winners:

September – Sarah Connor, Karama

August – Matthew Gibson and Verona Jurrah, Nyirripi Community

July – Eva Hayes and Abraham Poulson, Areyonga

June – Barbara Bursa and Pranom Kulsuwan, Woodroffe

May – Avril Smith, Bakewell

April – Rosina Parry, Daly River

March – Kevin and Melissa Collins, Moulden

February – John Goninon, Palmerston

January –  Ricky Coulthard, Alice Springs

2020 winners:

November — Maureen and Murray Smart, Johnston

October — Jimmy Holt, Tennant Creek

September — Fred Skalko, Katherine

August — Sharon Kenny, Alice Springs

July — Bunbapuy Whitehead, Yirrkala

June — Christine Pascoe, Maningrida

May — Jesse Miller, Abbotts Camp

April — Val Brearly and Robert Marshall, Katherine

March — Shirley Lewis-May, Tennant Creek

February — Anita Palmer, Barunga

January — Walter Weeks, Johnson

2019 winners:

November — Susan Doolan and Kenneth Hayes, Finke

October — Barbara Bursa and Pranom Kulsuwan, Woodroffe

September — Joelene Paddy and Dean Oliver, Santa Teresa

August — Hilmo Jahic, Nhulunbuy

July — Cecily Nixon, Pirlangimpi

June — Lack Phoneyiem, Malak

May — Jenneke Matthes, Woodroffe

April — Robert Peckham, Tennant Creek

March — Nerissa Nadjalaburnburn, Gunbalanya

February — Christine Guyula, Galiwin'ku

January — Filomena Lemos, Bakewell

2018 winners:

November — Sylvia Neale, Alice Springs

October — Beryl Gleeson, Humpty Doo

September — Herta and Ellen Hakata, Fannie Bay

August — Eva Cantrell, Nhulunbuy

July — David Riley and Laney Tracker, Alpurrurulam

June — Melita and Virgiloio Marquez, Karama

May - Malcolm and Sacha Loy, Alice Springs

April — Rhoda Bobby, Pigeon Hole

March — Cassandra Campbell, Alice Springs

February — Myrtle McBean, Katherine

Last updated: 09 June 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!